Nevada Earthquake Safety Council (NESC)

The mission of the Nevada Earthquake Safety Council (NESC) is to provide decision makers and the general public with information and actions to reduce earthquake losses and speed recovery. The Council promotes earthquake awareness and preparedness through education, research, and policy recommendations. The Council facilitates public input, develops consensus about seismic issues within the public and private sectors, and is the public advisory body for State seismic safety policy. Earthquake Safety Council meets on a quarterly basis.

The Nevada Earthquake Safety Council (NESC) was established through the authority contained in Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 4141, which authorizes the Chief of the Nevada Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security (NDEM) to carry out the emergency management program for the State of Nevada.

NESC Members:

Ron Lynn (Chair) – Building Official, Southern Nevada

Alan Bennett – Building Official, Northern Nevada

Michael Blakely – Structural Engineers

Ian Buckle – University, Northern Nevada

Wayne Carlson – Local Government, City

Craig dePolo – Geosciences, Northern Nevada

Jim Faulds – Member at Large, Northern Nevada

Jeff Hahn – Business and Industry, Southern Nevada

Graham Kent – Seismology Statewide

Connie Morton – Community Organization, Southern Nevada

Jim O’Donnell – Member at Large, Southern Nevada

Vance Payne – Local Government, County

Jim Reagan – Community Organization, Northern Nevada

Woody Savage – Geosciences, Southern Nevada

Wanda Taylor – University, Southern Nevada

James Walker – State Government

Jim Werle – Engineering, Southern Nevada

Meeting Information

Public Meeting Notifications

Additional Earthquake Information and Resources

Information / Resources