Name of Organization: Nevada Resilience Advisory Committee Date and Time of Meeting: Tuesday, October 8, 2019 – 9:00 A.M.

Carson City venue:	Carson City address:
Legislative Counsel Bureau	401 S. Carson Street
Legislative Building – Room 1214	Carson City, NV 89701
Las Vegas venue:	Las Vegas address:
Legislative Counsel Bureau	555 E. Washington Avenue
Grant Sawyer Building – Room 4401	Las Vegas, NV 89101
Elko venue: (TBD)	Elko address:
Great Basin College	1500 College Parkway
McMullen Hall – Room 102	Elko, NV 89801

## This meeting will be video-conferenced and/or teleconferenced between the locations above beginning at 9:00 A.M.

The Nevada Resilience Advisory Committee (Committee) may take action on items marked "For Possible Action." Items may be taken out of the order presented on the agenda at the discretion of Chair. Items may be combined for consideration by the Committee at the discretion of the Chair. Items may be pulled or removed from the agenda at any time.

**Note:** Witnesses wishing to have their complete testimony/handouts included in the permanent record of this meeting should provide a written or electronic copy to the Committee administrative support staff. Minutes of the meeting are produced in a summary format and are not verbatim.

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call Chair, Chief Justin Luna, State Administrative Agent (SAA), and Vice-Chair Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, Urban Area Administrator (UAA).
- 2. Public Comment (Discussion Only) No action may be taken upon a matter raised under this item of the agenda until the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an item upon which action may be taken. Public comments may be limited to three minutes per person at the discretion of the Chair. Comments will not be restricted based on viewpoint.
- **3. Approval of Minutes** (Discussion/For Possible Action) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Vice-Chair, Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, UAA. The Committee will discuss and review the minutes of the September 10, 2019, Committee meeting. The Committee may vote to amend and approve or approve the minutes as provided.

- 4. Quarterly Review of Current Nevada Resilience Advisory Committee Bylaws (Discussion/For Possible Action) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Vice-Chair, Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, UAA. The Committee will review the bylaws adopted on October 25, 2018, and revised on July 9, 2019, as a quarterly requirement denoted in the current bylaws. The Committee may vote to amend the bylaws based on issues identified during the review.
- 5. Seismic Risk Recommendations (Discussion/For Possible Action) Dr. Craig dePolo, Research Geologist, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology, University of Nevada, Reno, Mackay School of Mines. Dr. dePolo will present Nevada's seismic risks and potential recommendations related to earthquake public awareness, unreinforced masonry buildings, early warning systems, hazard studies, and response training. The Committee will discuss and may vote on the development of earthquake-specific recommendations to be included in the annual assessment and report to be completed in December of 2019.
- 6. Briefing on Statewide Cybersecurity Initiatives (Discussion Only) Shaun Rahmeyer, Administrator, Office of Cyber Defense Coordination within the Nevada Department of Public Safety's Investigation Division. The Committee will be provided with information on Cybersecurity Awareness Month and an overview of the National Incident Management System (NIMS) and how it relates to cybersecurity incident response.
- 7. Discussion on the Development of Strategic Capacities to be Maintained for the Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) Homeland Security Grant Program (HSGP) (Discussion/For Possible Action) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Vice-Chair, Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, UAA. The Committee will discuss and may vote on the development of strategic capacities to be maintained in the upcoming FFY20 HSGP process. Any Committee recommendations will be forwarded to the SAA and UAA for inclusion in their presentation to the Nevada Commission on Homeland Security regarding rank-prioritization of the FFY20 HSGP project submissions.
- 8. Public Comment (Discussion Only) No action may be taken upon a matter raised under this item of the agenda until the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an item upon which action may be taken. Public comments may be limited to three minutes per person at the discretion of the Chair. Comments will not be restricted based on viewpoint.
- **9.** Adjourn (Discussion/For Possible Action)

This is a public meeting. In conformance with the Nevada Public Meeting Law, this agenda was posted or caused to be posted on or before 9:00 a.m. on October 3, 2019, at the following locations:

Legislative Council Bureau, 555 E. Washington Avenue, Las Vegas, NV; Legislative Council Bureau, 401 S. Carson Street, Carson Street, Carson City, NV; Nevada State Emergency Operations Center, 2478 Fairview Drive, Carson City, NV, Clark County Fire Department, 575 E. Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV; Clark County Government Center, 500 S. Grand Central Parkway, Las Vegas, NV; Great Basin College, 1500 College Parkway, Elko, NV; and

## Posted to the following websites:

- Nevada Department of Public Safety's Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security Public Meeting Notifications/Information Website: DEM Public Meeting Website at <a href="http://dem.nv.gov/DEM/2019">http://dem.nv.gov/DEM/2019</a> Resilience Commission/
- Nevada Public Notice Website: www.notice.nv.gov

We are pleased to make reasonable accommodations for members of the public who are disabled. If special arrangements for the meeting are necessary, or if you need to obtain meeting materials, please notify Meagan Werth-Ranson, Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, 2478 Fairview Drive, Carson City, Nevada 89701 or (775) 687-0300. 24-hour advance notice is requested.