Public Records Request

Public Records Act

The Nevada Division of Emergency Management / Homeland Security is committed to providing access to public records in accordance with Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 239. The Public Records Act as found in NRS 239 ensures that government documents are available to the public for inspection or copying within the constraints of the law.

Public Records Request Procedure

To submit a public records request: 

  • Please submit the request in writing; you may use the Nevada DEM Public Records Request Form 
  • Send the request to the attention of the Division’s public information officer 
  • You can submit your request any of the following ways:

Your request must be very specific and must include:

  • Name, address, and telephone number
  • Date the request is submitted
  • Description of the requested record(s), detailed enough for the Records Official to identify the record(s)
  • Whether you want to inspect the record(s) or receive a copy
  • Specify the format in which you want the copy (e.g. paper or electronic)
  • Method by which you want to receive the copy (e.g. mail, facsimile, email)

Please note:

  • Requests should be as specific as possible and include the requester’s contact information
  • The Division will respond to the request within five business days
  • If the request cannot be fulfilled within five business days, the Division will provide written notice of that fact, let the requester know the earliest date and time it reasonably believes the record will be available, and may work with the requester to focus the request so the Division can respond as expeditiously as possible.


Per NRS 239.052, a government entity is permitted to charge a fee for the actual cost incurred in the provision of a public record. There may be charges associated with the request for Public Records. The DEM fee schedule is as follows: 

  • Actual Cost, incurred by a governmental entity in the provision of public records including without limitation the cost of ink, toner, paper, media and postage.
  • All payments must be made by check, money order, or exact cash, by mail or in-person. On-line requests may be paid by credit card.
  • Extraordinary Requests - requests deemed extraordinary by DEM are those requests that require more than two (2) hours of staff time to fulfill.

Pursuant to NRS 239.052(2), the division chooses to waive this fee except for the following exceptions: 

  • Hard copy requests of 50 or more single pages 
  • Postage costs 
  • The media used to provide electronic records (e.g., thumb drive, discs) 

The division will inform the requester of any fees prior to responding to the request. 

Fees List: 

  • Black and white copies, up to 8.5” x 11”: $0.05 per page 
  • Color, up to 8.5” x 11”: $0.50 per page 
  • Compact Disc/DVD/Thumb Drive: $5.00 per device